Sunday, October 6, 2013

AOSC-H: Sorrowful September and Joyful October

AOSC-H:  Sorrowful September and Joyful October
By Dr P Vyasamoorthy – President, Association of Senior Citizens of Hyderabad

Prof Visweswaraiah, Mr Mital, Mr Narayanmurti and myself went to Mumbai to participate in AISCCON AGM cum Elections on 29th September. All the four of us were also candidates for various posts in the Executive Committee. Mr Mital was seeking to be re-elected as President, Prof Visweswaraiah as Vice President, myself as Secretary General and Mr Narayanmurti as Organising Secretary. Opposing parties expected a neck to neck race thinking that a few votes this side or that side would decide the fate of contestants. But the Maharastrian team won by a thumping majority much to everyone’s surprise or shock depending on from which side you are looking. All four of us from Andhra Pradesh lost the elections and that was a sad and shocking outcome. (I was also elected unopposed as Joint Secretary and I still retain that seat). AP has been routed completely. Needless to say, we returned home highly disappointed. Last week of Last month was traumatic.

However, October turned out to be pleasant and happy. Early morning on 1st October Deccan Chronicle delivered more than a full page article on World Elders Day. A separate story by Journalist Amrita Paul spoke of AOSC and SCF with good photos. (Article reproduced below) On the same day, the State Government function connected with World Elders Day was held. Association of Senior Citizens of Hyderabad, where I am presently President, was awarded Best Institution (SCA) Award in AP. Again, on the same day I was honoured and felicitated by HelpAge in their meeting held in Necklace Road. That was the reason I could not attend the State level event. The award certificate was received by Prof Laxminarayana, Secretary of the Association.

That afternoon, AASARA conducted a meeting on WED. Senior Citizens Forum (where I am Vice President and Ms Kamakshi is the President), entertained the audience. This feature was appreciated by Eenadu through in full page coverage. Again, the Dept of Disabled and Senior Citizens, RR District conducted a similar meeting in Kukatpally on 3rd. AOSC-H members Sri KV Subba Rao,  Sri B Linga Reddy (TSCCON President), Sri Radhakrishna, Dr Rami Reddy Working President Mata Pitrula Seva Sadanam (where Prov V is President) were honoured. In a fourth meeting on WED held at Tarnaka by Hyderabad District Dept of Disabled and Senior Citizens, a similar bunch of AOSC-H members  -- Sri  IVLN Chary, Sri IM Bhalla, Sri RN Mital were honoured and awards given.

Therefore the shocking sadness of September happenings was compensated by refreshing raining of awards and felicitations for many in AOSC-H.

Story from Deccan Chronicle dated 1st October 2013.


No comments:

Post a Comment